Canucklhead

Trying to help - Omenako School Project

280 posts in this topic

I do not know why I was born in Canada, but I do know that I am very lucky. I am aware that the majority of the people on this planet do not have access to the same services that I do. I deeply wish that all the people of the world could be as lucky as I am.

I am a simple man, I work as a bartender and live in a small apartment. In my own country, I am lower middle class. I do not own land or a house. I am coming to visit Ghana.

A lot of the good people I know take things with them when they travel, mostly to help a small school or orphanage. Things like paper, pens, or chalk.

My idea, is that I would like to donate my laptop to an educational organisation. I realise that hooking it up to the internet is not realistic, but I can load the hardrive with an Encyclopedia, Dictionary, math and spelling games. The laptop will also play CD's and DVD's My laptop could act as a mini library. The only requirement is a steady power supply.

Most importantly, I want this small gift to go to help the most needy children. While I cannot change the world, mebbe I can help one kid and move the planet forward one trillion billionith of an inch? Given the space that I have in my suitcase, I think the best use of that space is a laptop filled with as much human knowledge and educational games as I possibly can and the ability to add more knowledge.

Is this a good idea, or should I just bring as many pens as possible?

If this is a good idea can anyone suggest the most worthy school or orphanage for my small anonymous gift? I would prefer a rural environment where internet access is not available.

I would just like to find a place where my small gift could do the most good. I am just one person trying to do one thing.

any advice is greatly appreciated

Canucklhead

Edited by Canucklhead